I found out about this today and I think this is a wonderful cause.

http://www.operationspecialdelivery.com/index.htm

“Operation Special Delivery (or OSD), provides trained volunteer doulas for pregnant women whose husbands or partners have been severely injured or who have lost their lives due to the current war on terror, or who will be deployed at the time that they are due to give birth. To be eligible for a volunteer doula from OSD an applicant must be unable to afford to hire a doula privately and be without reliable or sufficient labor and birth support.”

I am going to sign up. I don’t know if being in central IL will be helpful, but I think this is something that is worthwhile. If you know someone who is need of a doula and would benefit from this program send them the link to their website.

